Wow, Must try: Gluten Free Pork Chops in a Grape & Mushroom Balsamic Reduction over homemade Hummus

Okay, so I really didn’t know what I was in the mood for supper tonight, looked in the freezer to see what meats I had on hand & go from there.  I see pork chops, okay….I can work with that, pork chops & applesauce; no brainer, that won’t do, feel like stretching my creative muscles tonight.  I love to do hearty, healthy meals, especially on Sunday nights, get us all prepared for the week ahead.  I go to the fridge next, what do I have?  I see grapes, okay, mushrooms, okay, scallions, garlic, okay, now we’re cooking – I’ve got it!!

I take a saute’ pan, put in some Organic olive oil – a drizzle, then I start chopping grapes, about 2 cups, you can add more, or less, depending on what flavor you want.  Then I threw in the Balsamic Vinegar (about 1/4-1/2 cup) (as you can see when coming up w/recipes off the top of my head, I don’t measure…sorry), then I chopped the mushrooms, about 1/2 cup – 1 cup.  (I chop them up tiny, so my kids don’t see them), all this while the stove top is on medium in the pan, then chop up 1 scallion, then throw in minced garlic – about 2 cloves worth, then came rosemary – just a pinch, then kosher salt – about 2 tsp., then came the white wine – I used a pinot grigio I had on hand, about 1/4 cup.

Cook on medium while the balsamic reduces, not too much, I want it as a sauce, not a drizzle.  Throw in pork chops (season the pork chops with smoked sea salt & lemon pepper) – in this case, mine were boneless, thin cut approx. 4.5 pounds.  (I have a very large saute’ pan & I love it)  cook to pork doneness. (set the oven to broil & spray a small amount of cooking spray into a cast iron skillet) (this is the 1 step I forgot to take a picture of, sorry)

In the meantime, while cooking I make homemade hummus, in this case I kept it very simple, 1 can of drained & rinsed organic chick peas, 1 scallion, 2 cloves of garlic, small amount of salt & pepper, 1 tbsp. of lime juice (i was out of lemon, so I subbed), about 4 tbsp. of Tahini & 2 tsp. of organic olive oil, in the food processor & let it spin to get thinner.  (mine was a little thicker than I normally would choose, but that’s because I burned out the motor in my tiny processor … insert very sad face here)  lol

When pork is just about done, keep the sauce cooking on low, take pork out, lay down in cast iron skillet & throw under broiler for about 5 mins. – I like a little crisp on the top of the pork chops, and possibly melt down some of the fat that might still be on chop. (great flavor), throw back in saute’ pan & flip around & stir w/spoon making sure it’s all covered in saucy goodness.

Lay down hummus on plate, place pork chop on top & than spoon grapes & mushrooms & sauce over top.  See pics. (wish I got more) This was a huge hit w/the family & tasted like a restaurant quality dish.  I had to share this recipe, love when these flow off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

