Turkey Meatball Recipe, Gluten-Free & Paleo

1 Small Red Onion (I Know most people would say yellow, but I have a taste for red)

4 cloves of garlic pealed & minced

1 orange pepper, remove seeds & chop

1 pound of ground turkey, or if you choose buffalo is also a personal favorite, but any unprocessed fresh ground meat will do.

1 organic medium to largo Roma tomato (chopped), I leave seeds in.

1 medium organic beefsteak tomato (chopped small)

2 TBSP. finely chopped fresh basil

1/4 cup finely chopped fresh parsley

1/2 cup ground flaxseed (this is my replacement for breadcrumbs, works great!)  (if you don’t want to stick to strict Paleo rules, you can also throw in 1/4 cup grated parmesan – yummy)

1 tbsp. pink Himalayan sea salt, or any sea salt (that’s not a mix)

pinch of paprika (I like the flavor, you don’t need it)

1 big beautiful organic egg (we have free range, organic feed chickens; if you have a space for any, I highly recommend it, you will not eat a better, fresher egg)

dash of organic olive oil if you think you need it, but shouldn’t be necessary.

 

Mix by hand, some people say process, but I don’t think there’s a better way to mix a homemade meatball than by hand!! JMO

I like to slow cook these in a homemade red sauce, if I’m in more of a rush, I saute them briefly (to firm them up/get a quick brown on them) in a tiny bit of red sauce, then broil for about 7 mins. in red sauce.  (I am considering posting my homemade red sauce this week, but still debating it in my head, I just can’t give away all my secrets, can I ??) lol

I will try to get back to this post with a picture of my glorious, delicious meatballs!  Serve and enjoy over brown rice pasta (non-Paleo), or Spaghetti Squash, or just sit & chow down on the meatballs, nothing wrong with that!!

Make 1, or more batches and freeze for use any time, easy, healthy & incredibly easy to save and use for the future.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Turkey Meatball Recipe, Gluten-Free & Paleo

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free Tortilla Espanola « All about Gluten Free cooking & living!

  2. Pingback: Recipe Re-do; Meatballs and Creamy Rice Skillet Supper « All about Gluten Free cooking & living!

Leave a Reply

