Take Around Muffin Melts Gluten-Free – breakfast on the go.

Sorry friends, I completely lost track of time yesterday, and forgot to post this recipe!!  The recipe I’m going to share with you is adapted from Pioneer Woman Ree Drumond’s “Make-Ahead Muffin Melts” Original recipe link here: Make-Ahead Muffin Melts

I made these for the first time last year, just after I was diagnosed.  I made them up at home, put them in my baked goods carrier & brought them down for “Cape weekend” with my family (this way me, my husband & kids wouldn’t be eating breakfast out both mornings, thus saving a fortune!).  Every year during the beginning of Spring (still almost winter) my family heads down the Cape to spend the weekend together, I mean Aunts, Uncles, Cousins & Grandkids.  This started when my grandparents were alive, and I was a kid, before even some of my cousins were born yet; now that I think of it.  There are only 4 cousins (first cousins) total in my family, we are not a large group by any stretch of the imagination, I am an only child, my youngest cousin is an only child & my two cousins in the middle are the only brother-sister team rounding out our giant circle of cousins.  I believe my grandparents started this tradition in the early 80’s, I will however double-check that, so I’ve been going down for this annual weekend for at least 25 years if not more, this annual trip holds amazing memories for me, as both grandparents have now passed on, my grandfather passed a month before my 21st birthday & my grandmother much more recently a year after my oldest son was born (3 years now).  So, the fact that we have carried this on as an entire family means the world to me, love that it’s a tradition that I can pass on to my children.

Anyway my husband has now asked for them several times over, because I make a batch & refrigerate them & he has breakfast made for at least a week (if not more) ready to heat & go; he loves them.  So do I & the kids, but hubby the most.  My husband is a blue-collar worker, works hard all day on his feet, and even goes to the gym at his lunch hour, so he burns a lot of calories & he feels that these fill him up for breakfast & they’re pretty darn good for you too!  (oh & delicious of course!)  Here’s your ingredients & then instructions:

Ingredients

  • 12 whole Hard-boiled Eggs, Peeled And Chopped (I hate the smell of hard-boiled eggs, but it’s worth it in the end)
  • 2 cups Grated Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 cup Mashed (smooth) Avocados (replacing the mayonnaise in the original)
  • 12 slices Bacon, Fried And Crumbled (I used GF turkey bacon)
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon Mustard (I use the GF Trader Joe’s)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder (I probably throw in a pinch extra)
  • 3 dashes GF Worcestershire Sauce (please read labels & be careful – I can tell you that the BIG NAME BRAND is gluten-free)
  • 6 whole GF English Muffins Split (I use Trader Joe’s – the frozen are kind of gross (JMO) & really expensive (fact) ) – or you can also use the TJ’s GF French Rolls (they’re thick English Muffins, slightly different texture, would also work  great)
  • I personally don’t believe that good, or better food needs to be expensive because you have food allergies, restrictions, or aversions, that’s why I mention where I purchase less expensive products, good food doesn’t always have to cost more!!

Preparation Instructions

Combine eggs with all other ingredients. Fold together gently. Cover and store in the fridge overnight.

Spread on muffin (you can certainly use homemade muffins as well!)  halves, then broil for 3 to 5 minutes or until hot and bubbly. (Don’t set them too close to the heating element.)  Serve immediately for warm enjoyment.

OR

Let cool & store in airtight container in refrigerator & enjoy 1, or 2 at a time by warming in oven, toaster oven, or microwave.

**If you get a chance, read Ree’s original post, because she’s quite funny & entertaining, also she has pics up, which are a great guideline.  I promise I will start taking more pics of my projects & post them with the blog posts.

Eat & Enjoy!!  Have a great weekend everyone!

 

One thought on “Take Around Muffin Melts Gluten-Free – breakfast on the go.

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free Survival Kit for Cape weekend with my family. « All about Gluten Free cooking & living!

Leave a Reply

