St. Patrick’s Day Chocolate Cupcakes!

I adapted a couple different recipes to come up with my own, barely peppermint flavored with green cream cheese frosting.  I made these last night for my husband and boys & they can barely contain their delight!  When hubby says something is delicious, I know it’s good, he has a vicious sweet tooth & he hates peppermint!!  Low & behold, he loved these cupcakes.  Yay!

Very easy to make, which is what I try to do with all my recipes, I don’t feel that living gluten-free has to always mean far more complicated cooking.  First I’ll list the ingredients, then the instructions.

Ingredients: (what you need)

1 large mixing bowl, muffin/cupcake pan.

* 1 cup sugar (I use organic granulated)
* 3/4 cup all-purpose baking flour + 2 TBSP. extra (I used Jules Gluten Free all purpose flour)
* 1/2 cup cocoa
* 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
* 1 egg (room temperature is best) (these come from my own organic fed, free range chickens)
* 1/2 cup milk
* 1/2 cup coconut oil
* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1/2 cup warm coffee

**3-4 dashes of peppermint extract**

*Technically you should mix your wet & dry ingredients separately & then mix together, I usually just throw in 1 bowl for less mess, but you should mix them separately & then together (wet & dry)*

Cooking Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a muffin pan, or use paper cupcake/muffin large baking cups. (I use a compostable brand)

In a large bowl combine the sugar,  flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt and xanthan gum.  Mix well.

Add the egg, milk, oil, vanilla extract and coffee.  Mix until smooth.  Now add in your dashes of peppermint extract, depends on how much peppermint flavor you want, I did about 4 small dashes, flavor was perfect, not overpowering. Divide evenly among the prepared muffin wells.

Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool completely and top with frosting.

Makes about 16 cupcakes.  (medium sized)

Frosting:

So, I did a little “cheat” on frosting, I used a pre-made/store-bought gluten-free whipped cream cheese frosting (name brand not included) & added some green food coloring to it.  Wah,lah, delicious green frosting for my St. Patrick’s Day cupcakes.  

I will come back to add photo(s) later. (A photographer I am not, just so you know, my photos are amateur at best) LOL

Bake, eat, enjoy!!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day all!!

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Leave a Reply

