Gluten-Free Banana Bread Recipe, per special request of a fan:

A special reader diagnosed with Celiac disease made a special request for my recipe of gluten-free banana bread today.  She made the request via my Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/BecomeUnglud

So, to Noella, I hope this brings you as much joy as it does my family!

Here’s what you’ll need/Ingredients:

  • 2 cups gluten-free all-purpose baking flour (Personally I prefer Bob’s Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free baking flour) (I’ve tried others, I feel this yields the best, natural texture.
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (I use Sea Salt)
  • 4 eggs (my own free range organic chickens)
  • 4-5 Medium mashed ripe bananas (make sure they’re almost about to go bad, these are the best for baking!)
  • 1 cup sugar (I use organic)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (also organic)
  • 1/3 cup Coconut Oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ** 1/2 cup chopped walnuts OR chocolate chips, if you’re feeling saucy, a lot of times I bake w/no additions.

Baking Instructions:
  • In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt, eggs, bananas, sugar, applesauce, oil and vanilla. Stir after each additional ingredient just until moistened.
  • Transfer to two 8-in. x 4-in. loaf pans coated with cooking spray.  Bake at 350° for 45-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

  • Yield: 2 loaves (12 slices each).

Let cool, slice, serve enjoy!!  I can tell you this treat does NOT last long in our house at all, 2 days if we’re lucky.  And if there’s any left by the weekend, I often slice the rest & make banana bread french toast with it; HUGE hit!!  I do a lot of from scratch cooking, try tons of recipes, change them to suit my needs & taste.  Don’t be afraid to experiment with your food!

Have a great night, enjoy!

Colette

Leave a Reply

