Grass Roots effort to get my Gluten-Free business off the ground.

I have been cooking gluten-free, Vegan & Paleo recipes for just over a year now & cooking itself has always been a passion of mine.  (before I found out I was gluten intolerant)

Part of my effort to kick off my business “Unglu’d” , is working with another successful business owner in a similar business, delivering homemade meals to busy people.  www.doorknockdinner.com is a meal delivery service, and the owner also has 3 cafe’s.  I do some online social media networking, marketing, etc.  I am learning a lot from her, it’s very valuable experience.  I also offer my line of food (limited) on her site as well for delivery with her meals.  I cook in her kitchen, which is quite a hike.  What I really need to do is find a commercial kitchen more local to my home base & do my own deliveries, or offer pick up to avoid delivery charge.  My site would be set up fairly similar to DKD.  I will also offer catering in terms of food drop off, I will not be offering servers, just food to be delivered to site.

My end goal is to have a very simple, affordable, healthy, locally sourced, mostly organic cafe’ that offers gluten-free, vegan & paleo menu options, everything being gluten-free first & foremost.  I would serve breakfast & lunch, that’s it.  We are hoping to achieve this by the time both of my boys are in school full-time (they’re still pretty little 4 & 2).  This gives me a few years to really get my rear in gear!  Make the goal, see the goal, achieve the goal!

Right now another facet of me becoming successful is being a happy person, happy wife & happy parent.  If you’re not happy you can’t help anyone around you (honestly).  And believe me not every day is happy, but if nothing else I can end every day with some positive outcome, or outlook, or thought and always know that tomorrow is another day & a chance to do great & give back.

I babysit for 2 wonderful families, 1 family I sit for is 2 girls, close to my boys ages & I have them 2 full days a week and send home meals for their family.  This is a great way to get feedback on the meals & for busy parents it’s a great relief to have 1 less thing to worry about.  I give them 2 menu choices for each day (changing every week).  Eventually when I have a full menu it will be whatever they choose (right now I’m testing recipes, etc.) & also special request.  On the 2nd day I have the girls I also send a little dessert home with the meal.  Everything is gluten-free, everything.  Most of it is organic and quite a bit is local.  I feed them what I feed my own family.  It makes my heart glow when I get positive feedback & even when I get negative feedback, I need to know what works & what doesn’t, so any feedback is positive in the grand scheme of things.  In the long run it will help me with portion size, quality & packaging.  And will help me choose what to offer on my menu as well, being both cost-effective for families and for me.

I test out tons of recipes on my own family, one of my favorites is a slow-cooker chicken cacciatore, here is a picture of my son, literally licking his plate clean & this is a 2 yr. old eating vegetables & nothing processed in a meal, home scratch, real food cookin’!!  Mmmm, mmmm good stuff (if I left off the last word, I’d be stealing someone’s tag line) ha,ha.

Until I write again, stay healthy, stay happy & Eat well!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

