Egg shells as part of your planting plans! If you’re like my family you have tons of egg shells, we’ve been putting them into compost (shells from our organically fed free range chickens), but I’m going to start putting aside a bag of shells and try out this handy planting tip for my tomatoes this year!!

edible South Shore & South Coast Blog

Here in Southern New England, we just had what will most likely be our last significant frost.  In my little yard, that was a temp of 27.8 last night.  There were frost and freeze warnings up everywhere.  As a result of our warm spring, there was plenty out there to be affected.  Only time will tell if it affects the fruit trees for the year.

The warmth affected me in smaller ways.  I got anxious to plant and ended up getting my pepper and tomato seedlings started a few weeks earlier than I normally would.  It should all end well as I tend to plant a bit earlier than many in my area.  Our average last frost is May 9th here.  By my records, it has been late April for the past 6 years that I have kept track.  We tend to have a frost warning sometime in the second…

View original post 452 more words

Leave a Reply

