Recipe Re-do; Meatballs and Creamy Rice Skillet Supper

I sincerely apologize for not posting for quite a while, this will not happen again!  Things have been crazy & I’m getting everything in order for the business launch…  a few more hoops to jump through & I’ll be fully in business, ready to serve my community!  Here is a recipe re-do I’d like to share with you all.  It’s something a little different & I hope you enjoy.  (bonus recipe for substituting “condensed soup” in a recipe)

I get recipe updates from tons of sites, some of them gluten-free, some not, of which those I choose quite a few to easily convert.

Here is one I got from Betty Crocker, she sent it directly to my email; wasn’t that nice of her? Ha!  I put a slightly different twist on this very easy dish.

Here is the original recipe: Meatballs and Creamy Rice Skillet Supper

The original recipe called for, 3/4 cup uncooked regular long-grain white rice (which I kept the same), 1 can (10 3/4 oz.) condensed cream of celery soup (this I completely changed) and made my own soup/stock, with the following (I’ll give exact measurements further on) (I used the following): coconut milk, canned artichoke hearts, and organic vegetable broth. Back to the original: 2 cups of water, 1 1/2 cups ready to eat baby carrots, cut in 1/2 lengthwise (I substituted this for full size organic carrots, which is peeled & cut up), 1 box of (12 oz.) frozen cooked Italian-style meatballs, thawed (YUCK!!!, clearly I substituted this for my homemade seasoned turkey meatballs), chopped fresh parsley.

I have given the recipe to my turkey meatballs on the site before, type in turkey meatballs to search & you can easily find them, but because I love you all & want to make your lives easier here is the link to that post: Turkey Meatballs. (Only thing I did different with these particular meatballs was leave our the egg, I was going for a slightly different texture)

Now for the measurements for the dismantled condensed soup:

1/2 can of organic coconut milk (10.5 oz.)

1 full can of organic artichoke hearts (drained)

4 tbsp. of organic vegetable broth

salt & pepper to taste

For quicker meatballs, I lined a 1/2 sheet cake pan with wax paper, rolled the balls & cooked them at 425 degrees for 10 min. on 1 side flipped them & another 5 min. Very fast way to cook turkey meatballs.

Cook rice, 2 cups of “soup”, and water to boil, lower heat cook another 5 mins with the meatballs & carrots.  Done!

Serve, eat & enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

