Sometimes One recipes leads to two! They both include Sweet Potatoes.

My husband & I have been married for 7 1/2 years now, with 2 kids, a dog & a house, we don’t go “out” very much at all, so we tend to have “dates” at home after the kids go to bed on the weekends.  (I think I’ve talked about this before, so I digress…)

I like to make us something yummy to eat, while we share some adult beverages…lol

I looked at what we had, I could make hummus, but we actually had no chips to dip, back to the drawing board….not sure what made me think of it, but I said oh, potato skins, we didn’t have any large enough white potatoes, so how about sweet potato skins? Why not?  My hubby loves sweet potatoes, I love bacon & cheese! ha ha.  So, I took 4 small-medium sweet potatoes, poked holes all over them, and placed them on a microwave safe plate & popped them in for 6 min.  (I know gross microwave, but hey it’s fast & convenient, and who doesn’t like that from time to time)…

While those are in the microwave, start cooking up 3-4 pieces of bacon (I used turkey bacon, this is just a personal preference & it’s gluten-free; most bacon brands are, but you DO need to read labels, not all are).  Once the sweet potatoes are soft to the touch, they’re done, cut in 1/2 lengthwise & scoop out most of the sweet potato “guts” & place to the side (for our 2nd recipe).  Fill your sweet potato (boats) with sharp cheddar cheese, crumble the bacon, put on top of that, and top it off w/a little more cheese (yes, I love cheese), I then topped w/some chopped scallion as well.  Pop back in microwave for approx. 1-2 min.  and done!  Delicious snack – no salt, or seasoning at all, the cheese & bacon are plenty; honestly & I’m a huge fan of seasoning; you will not need it.   While I’m not advocating this as a healthy snack, it’s definitely a healthier snack, then typically deep-fried potato skins.  Enjoy!

So, now with the sweet potato filling – biscuits, or cookies??  Hmmm….. You decide!!   Majority rules, comment below & I will post either a sweet potato biscuit (gluten-free & a vegan version, also gluten-free) OR a sweet potato cookie (also gluten-free & a vegan/gluten-free version)

One thought on “Sometimes One recipes leads to two! They both include Sweet Potatoes.

Leave a Reply

