A Very Paleo Dinner; Pork Loin over Mashed Cauliflower topped with mushrooms!

pork loin over mashed cauliflower with mushrooms

My boys (including my husband) were told these were mashed potatoes, I told my husband right away that they were in fact cauliflower, he couldn’t believe it.  I do think what helped was the pancetta & fresh rosemary that I included with the cauliflower.  “Pancetta is often called Italian bacon. That’s a true enough description, but unlike American bacon, which is most often smoked, pancetta is unsmoked pork belly that is cured in salt and spices such as nutmeg, pepper and fennel. It’s then dried for a few months.”

I purchased a pork loin (already seasoned) (fresh, not frozen) from Trader Joe’s, cooked as directed.  I sautéed approximately 1 pound of mushrooms in olive oil, rosemary, sea salt, pepper and fresh parsley.  Let me also say I’m the only one in my family that really enjoys mushrooms, I trick all the rest into eating them if they’re hidden in something, even a sauce they’ll eat them.  In this particular case, they are clearly not hidden – I ate ALL the mushrooms!!   And I loved it!

Steam 1 head of cauliflower (I had organic, local cauliflower on hand from South Shore Organics), once soft, puree in food processor. (add any flavors you like) I sautéed some pancetta, as I said with rosemary.  This was such a decadent, delicious supper, I could hardly stand myself!!

Completely gluten-free & Paleo (sorry to my paleo peeps, I haven’t been posting as many recipes for you as I should, I promise I will get some more out soon.)

To eat Paleo is also to eat Gluten-Free, so if you see a Paleo recipe, feel safe, always double check, but a true Paleo diet is also a gluten-free diet.

Cook, Eat, Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

