Carne Picada over Cilantro Lime Rice (gluten-free, dairy/egg-free, nut free)

carne picada over lime cilantro rice cover photo

Let me preface this by stating that this is not the best quality of meat you will ever buy, but it IS certainly cost-effective when feeding a family of four.  This recipe makes enough so that Mom & Dad have leftovers for lunch the next day.  Also great if  you’re making a meal big & comforting enough to have guests.  This recipe turned out delicious and my kids (who I was very skeptical about) gobbled it up!!

Here is what you’ll need (even if you’re adverse to buying meat at Wal-Mart) and I’m not saying I recommend it on a regular basis, but that’s where I went just before our last snowstorm & got a steal on this package:

packaage for carne picada

* Approximately 2 lbs. of meat

* 28oz. can of Organic Whole Peeled Tomatoes

* 4 oz. of fire roasted diced green chile

* 4 cloves of minced garlic (or 2 Tbsp.), less if desired, I happen to be a huge fan of garlic

* 2 tsp. Italian Seasoning

* 1 TBSP. of Oregano (When cooking anything slightly Mexican/Hispanic I feel a strong urge to use tons of Oregano  – I don’t know that this is necessarily authentic, but I must do it!)

* Black pepper & Sea Salt to taste

* 1 TBSP. of garlic powder (did I mention I like the flavor of garlic?)

* 1 medium yellow onion chopped

* 2-3 TBSP. fresh organic cilantro (I also really love cilantro)

* 1 TBSP. of Organic Olive Oil (Put in pan first while heating pan)

This is genuinely such an easy recipe, just start throwing stuff in a large saute pan/skillet.  I put tomatoes in first (after coating & warming the pan with the olive oil), chop the tomatoes either beforehand, or like I did (so there’s less mess) I smushed (my very technical term) them in the pan with a wooden spoon.  Add garlic, onion, chiles, let simmer for several minutes, add the meat, then all the herbs, salt, pepper, etc.  Simmer, stirring occasionally until cooked through.  While the meat cooking, cook up your rice, whatever type & cooking method you choose.  I made white rice as I think it takes on the flavors I was adding well.  Once the rice is cooked add 2-3 tsp. of lime juice or the juice of 2 fresh limes (again use your personal taste/discretion)  Add a bit of butter (when I say “butter” I really mean a Vegan substitute; earth balance)(desired amount) and then 1 TBSP. of cilantro (you really don’t need salt at this point, because the carne picada will be over the rice)

carne picada

Plate rice, then top with meat (I used slotted spoon to drain out some of the juice/sauce), but feel free to use all the juice if you wish.

carne picada over lime cilantro rice 2IMG_20130217_180017 (3) IMG_20130217_180045 (2)All gone & believe me, my boys don’t always eat what’s put in front of them – my oldest has a very special aversion to tomatoes & he ate them, he really ate them!!!  BOOM – blew my mind!

Cook, eat & enjoy!

Leave a Reply

