Homemade Gluten-Free Cornbread… this is a must for all who love cornbread!

I grew up on homemade cornbread – my Grandmother’s!  I have never been able to replicate it; to be honest it was on the dry side & typically I don’t like it dry, but the memories of smearing (tons) of butter on the warm crumbly bread & having it melt in your mouth, made it seem perfectly perfect!  It was real cornbread; no wheat flour.  It was corn meal & sometimes real corn(cut right off a fresh from the farmstand cob) & when she got very “fancy” as she called it; there was creamed corn in it.  WOW!  (somehow it still came out a bit dry, don’t ask me how)

Then as I got older & she didn’t have as many people to feed, Jiffy came into our house (Jiffy had been around for ages & ages, just not in our house).  We had cupboards full of Jiffy mix – blueberry muffins & cornbread!  She was thrilled & I will admit to you I loved it, cheap, convenient; why not?  If I could still eat Jiffy mix, I would.  I used to add stuff to it, veggies, herbs, spices to make it my own.  Well, as most of you probably know who are reading this we (us Unglu’ds) cannot eat Jiffy, it contains the infamous wheat flour!  Booooo….  I had never read the ingredients before I HAD to. Once shortly after I was diagnosed I bought it assuming it was in fact corn – I happened to turn over the box & read (first….) wheat.  To my dismay I gave the 4 boxes I had to a friend & said good-bye to my long time love affair with Jiffy cornbread.

So, here my friends is the simplest of simple recipes for you to make cornbread just as most New Englanders will remember it.  Here is what you’ll need:

  • 2 cup cornmeal, I use old-fashioned stone ground, organic & non-gmo preferred.  (if you can find it)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt, sea salt preferable
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter, my Grandmother always used bacon grease (seriously how in the world did it come out dry?), but we cook turkey bacon here, so not enough grease for cooking with.

Before mixing, preheat oven to 375.  In a large bowl – mix all dry ingredients.  Medium sized bowl – mix all wet ingredients.  Combine wet ingredients into dry mix & stir with whisk first & then with wooden spoon to combine well .  Lightly grease a 9X9 pan (I used glass pan)   Cook for 20-25 minutes until cooked through.  (check center with toothpick, or handle of a small fork, if it comes out dry you’re done).

This seems almost too simple right?  I know!!  Simple is great.  I wanted to add rosemary to it, but hubby asked for plain old-fashioned corn bread, so that is what he got.  I think I’ll make this again next week for a play-date & mix in edible lavender & rosemary (both from my garden) and make as corn muffins.

Cook, eat, enjoy.

PS – I forgot to take a picture of the process itself; so enjoy this picture of beautiful cornbread; I promise mine looked just like this!

This is exactly what my cornbread looked like.

This is exactly what my cornbread looked like.

I couldn't resist putting in a pic with giant pad of butter on top! Plus this is my favorite way to have cornbread with homemade chili!!

I couldn’t resist putting in a pic with giant pad of butter on top! Plus this is my favorite way to have cornbread with homemade chili!!

Leave a Reply

