Rice, boring? Not this time! Artichoke & Goat cheese white rice…

I didn’t want just plain old white rice for supper tonight, I need to give it some pizzazz; right?  Off to the pantry (sounds fancy doesn’t it?  … it’s not, I have shelves in the staircase to my basement).  Hmm… what do I have to add?  I knew my veggies were running low in the fridge, so I skipped looking there, my delivery is coming this Friday from South Shore Organics.  I saw a can of artichoke hearts; that could be interesting.  I then went to the refrigerator, anything else to add?  Oh, organic goat cheese with herbs; yes!   I actually browned the artichoke hearts (after chopping them) under the broiler to give them some dimension & crunch, I put approximately 2 Tbsp. of the goat cheese into my 3 cups of cooked rice.  It was different & delicious.  Here is a not so great picture of the result:

artichoke goat cheese rice

It tasted better than it looks in this picture, you’ll have to trust me on this one.  My point is, don’t let your rice be boring; throw in whatever you’re in the mood for!  The hubby & 1 son were impressed, the other son ate around the artichokes…. you can’t win every time.  Cook, eat, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

