My first guest post, Vegan Sweet Potato Gnocchi; Gluten-free & Paleo version (both V)

Molly's Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Being newly(ish) pregnant I want to make sure I continue to eat healthy and make dinners that don’t take a lot of time or energy. It seems like everything makes me tired these days. (I might be guilty of sitting on the edge of my tub while brushing my teeth kind of tired). I’ve always enjoyed fresh pasta, but most store-bought fresh pasta’s have eggs and are a vegan no no. I don’t have the energy right now to get out my pasta machine and roll out thin sheets of dough and then let it dry a little. Gnocchi is one of my favorites and pretty easy to make. You don’t need a special pasta machine or even a gnocchi board. I even skipped rolling the dough into snakes and just broke off pieces and rolled them into rounds in my hand. This recipe is super easy to change around, you could use white potatoes, you could add cheese to the dough too, if you are a cheese eater.

2 lb sweet potatoes, rinsed and pierced with a fork.
2 TBS brown sugar or maple syrup
1tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2 3/4 c to 3 1/4 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
**Gluten-Free substitution here would be 2 3/4 cup of garbanzo bean flour **Paleo sub would be Almond flour.
sauce
1 stick earth balance margarine ( you could use real butter or even 1/2 cup olive oil in stead)
6-8 TBS fresh sage chopped (side note if you’re using ground sage (bottled), you will only need about 2 TBSP.)
**Paleo use the olive oil  (Earth Balance is gluten-free & non-GMO)
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, wrap the potatoes in foil and bake until soft, about an hour.  Once the potatoes are soft remove them from the oven. Use a knife and slice them open to release the steam. This will help them be fluffier gnocchi as you’ll get to use less flour to form the dough.
Set a large pot of water on to boil.
While your potatoes are cooling add 2 3/4 cup flour to a large bowl, mix in the salt, sugar (or syrup) and nutmeg until they are blended.
When your potatoes are cool enough to handle mash them into the flour. The dough will be soft and a little sticky. If it is really wet and clumping to your hands add more flour a little at a time.
Once your dough is a ready it should be able to be handled with out sticking to your hands. It will be softer than a bread dough though.
You should set up a floured cutting board or a large piece of parchment paper on your counter or table. Divide the dough into 6 pieces. Flour your hands and roll 1 piece of dough into a “snake” about 15-20 inches long. Cut each snake into about 20 pieces. They should be around 1 inch long. Continue to do this with the remaining dough pieces.
(Or just skip this part and break of little chunks about the size of your  thumb from tip to the 1st knuckle).
If you want you can roll the gnocchi down the tines of a fork, the ridges are supposed to help pick up extra sauce.
In a large saute pan or frying pan and the margarine and sage, cook on low heat.
By now your large pot of water should be boiling. I like to boil the gnocchi in small batches. Add about 1/4 of the gnocchi pieces to the water and stir. It only takes a few minutes until they start to float back up to the surface. Once they float use a slotted spoon and remove them from the water.  Let them drain a few seconds and add them to the saute pan. Add another 1/4 of the gnocchi to the water, when they are cooked add to the saute pan. Continue this until all the gnocchi are in the pan. Toss them around in the sauce and then remove the pan from the  heat. Serve while warm with a nice salad!!! They also freeze fairly well, if you have left overs, place a single layer of them in a freezer bag and you can either microwave them or warm them in a saute pan.
Enjoy and feel free to experiment with different herbs in the sauce. They are also really good with pesto!!!!
Thank you Molly, great recipe & so so easy!!  Please try it, you will thank us!  Below is a link to the very talented Molly’s Etsy shop – you will want to check out her handmade items, they are SO cute & make great gifts!!
Below are some pics from me following Molly’s Vegan Gnocchi recipe, my husband & I loved it, the kids not so much, but hey; it never hurts to have them try new things.
I used ground sage (didn't have fresh on hand), I also added garlic & fresh rosemary to the sauce..wish you could have smelled it!!

I used ground sage (didn’t have fresh on hand), I also added garlic & fresh rosemary to the sauce..wish you could have smelled it!!

I didn't do snakes I grabbed & hand rolled & marked with fork.

I didn’t do snakes I grabbed & hand rolled & marked with fork.

Floats to the top, take out drain & add to the sauce...

Floats to the top, take out drain & add to the sauce…

A few gnocchis added to the sauce.

A few gnocchis added to the sauce.

Cook, eat; enjoy!!

3 thoughts on “My first guest post, Vegan Sweet Potato Gnocchi; Gluten-free & Paleo version (both V)

  1. Oh man. Let it be known that this doesn’t even REMOTELY work with almond flour!! However, not wanting to waste all the dough after the first couple pieces completely fell apart in the boiling water, I put the rest on a tray and baked them…a good fix!

    • Oh, good to know! I wonder for Paleo version if it would work well with coconut flour, instead of almond…I’d be curious to try that. Good tip on the baking if it’s not working boiling. Thanks for reading & commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

