Organic Gardening for your lifestyle, series; part 2

I have started planting, I start with just a few things & add as the season progresses, I do tend to be a late planter (I’m a procrastinator by nature…I have at least 5 drafted blog posts as we speak, that I started, but haven’t finished), but this season I am even later, as I needed to avoid any chance of frost & they were warning of it overnight in just the past week.  We had a VERY long Winter this year!

First a pic of our smaller planting bed, before we turned it & made a raised bed:

Smaller planting bed (before); my husband is measuring it to frame & create raised bed:

Smaller planting bed (before); my husband is measuring it to frame & create raised bed:

Tomorrow you will see it as a raised bed & with the plantings, I will go through the steps with you, since we are transplanting some items & some are freshly planted.

This is going to be 1 of our transplants, Chocolate Mint, it did very well, so well, it sustained through Winter & even started to spread into the pool area:

Chocolate mint grows vine-like (I believe this is the only herb, plant, or vegetable that I didn't buy organic) (grows like a weed, literally)

Chocolate mint grows vine-like (I believe this is the only herb, plant, or vegetable that I didn’t buy organic) (grows like a weed, literally)

I dug about 6 in. down to make sure I was able to get the roots & the soil it had been growing so well in.

I dug about 6 in. down to make sure I was able to get the roots & the soil it had been growing so well in.

The Chocolate mint is now sitting in 2 separate pots waiting to be transplanted into the new bed.  I have some to share with friends who are looking for starters as well 🙂

My older son playing Foreman on the job.

My older son playing Foreman on the job.

Are you seriously taking a picture of me doing this?  My husband reluctant for blog pics...

Are you seriously taking a picture of me doing this? My husband reluctant for blog pics…

starting to dig out the bed 2

Measuring & digging, 1 of our Chicks making an appearance, searching for grubs & worms.

Measuring & digging, 1 of our Chicks making an appearance, searching for grubs & worms.

Here is a pic of the first tier frame built:

First tier frame built, soil not turned yet:

First tier frame built, soil not turned yet:

Tomorrow I’ll post more specifics, and pics of finished 2-tiered first bed done.

Next in the series will be the start of our pallet garden/privacy fence for the pool!

Leave a Reply

