“Greek”ish stuffed Chicken – Gluten-Free; Another rewarding Meal Delivery for Kai’s Village.

Another family is being helped in my area (by Kai’s Village) & both myself a group of friends of mine & even more wonderful local  people get to be involved.  We have another meal delivery train going for a local family whose child is in treatment.  I was trying to think outside the box, I have lists of freezer meals, but none of them were sounding appealing to me…I was craving something, but what?  I say “I” because as I said before, whatever I cook for the family we’re delivering to, our family also eats the same thing.  Maybe feeling Greek(ish)?  Yes, that sounds good.  Now, keep in mind, I’m not Greek, I really have no knowledge of true Greek cuisine.

I saw feta cheese while I was out shopping & that’s what did it.  I grabbed a jumbo pack of chicken, boneless, skinless & the thought came to me, grab some Calamata Olives, I had Organic goat cheese at home & decided this would be my mix, I halved the chicken breasts to thin them, then pounded them out.  Now, I have to mention this, I’m a big believer in if you don’t have the appropriate tools, or ingredients you improvise.  I pounded out the chicken with an empty wine bottle, I’m not sure if my mother was more amused by this, or more horrified by this, but this is my way.  I put the breasts between the sheets of wax paper & give them a wicked whack about to get them thin.  I lightly salt & pepper the breasts & then stuff with my mixture, which I’ve prepared in a bowl ahead of time.  I’m not using measurements on this  only because I think you should use as much as you want, but this is what I mixed to stuff:

Feta Cheese

Organic goat cheese

Calamata Olives (diced)

Organic Olive Oil

Oregano

Thyme

Minced Garlic

Baked at 425 F for approximately 30 minutes.  On the outside of rolls, I sprinkled some more oregano & thyme, to give some color & extra flavor.

kai's village meal stuffed chicken

Chicken after being baked with the crispy fingerling potatoes

inside of stuffed chicken for kai's village

What this gorgeous chicken looked like on the inside; nom nom nom!

Oh & here is a link to the recipe I used for the Organic fingerling potatoes, so, so good, we ate the whole batch; no leftovers!!

Crispy Lemon-Garlic Fingerling Potatoes  & this was all served with a fresh, Organic Mesclun salad!

Leave a Reply

