Buffalo-Chicken Empanada (gluten-free) Recipe

Mission given, come up with a buffalo chicken recipe (for a themed birthday party), my personal mission to not go shopping for any ingredients (I know this sounds a little nuts, but we’re on a strict food budget & have been doing pretty well, so I’m trying to use what we have & not buy extras…when I can)

For the filling you will need:

1 1/4 – 1 1/2 lbs. breast meat chicken
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese (Yes, I said feta, I substituted, you can use blue cheese, if you can find gluten-free) Most blue cheese in the U.S. is not gluten-free, because they use wheat to speed up the molding process of the cheese, so please be careful & read labels.
1/2 cup buffalo sauce (made my own, recipe here…you can use store-bought)
2 green onions chopped

Pretty simple, right?

Buffalo chicken filling

Buffalo chicken filling

For the empanada dough:

2 cups gluten-free flour (I am trying the Trader Joe’s brand all-purpose GF flour)
1 teaspoon flax meal
1 stick of butter
3/4 cup of water

Place all ingredients for dough into a food processor; work quickly, you need to avoid the butter getting warm, ends up gooey, greasy mess!   Once dough is mixed (should spin in a ball all together), place in refrigerator approximately 30 min. (the longer the better, but shouldn’t go more than 1 hour)

My processor is so tiny (it’s a mini-chop mixer) I had to do in 2 separate batches & transfer to large bowl.

gluten-free empanada dough gluten-free empanada dough 2Now chilllll…………

Okay, let me say this, I started to freak out after taking the dough out after about 45 min.  I say leave it to chill for at least an hour, or more if you have time.  This was not the easiest dough to work with, I definitely felt like I was failing.  The shape/look of them was not so great, I have no pictures, because I was then running late for the party I needed to get them to.  They did taste good & almost all were gobbled up, so I take that as a good sign. I will make them again this week (my husband has made a special request) & will photograph the final product again (and let the dough chill longer too, so I can tell you if it’s then easier to work with).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit.

Take out your dough, sprinkle some gluten-free flour on your work surface, roll it around a bit, but not too much (you don’t want to warm it up too much) You can either roll out the whole ball of dough & make your cuts (using either a mold, or cup for example), or you can break off pieces/balls individually roll with pin to flatten (try to get it fairly thin, but not so thin you can’t work with it), this all depends on how “perfect” you want your empanadas to look.  Mine did not look pretty at all, but they did taste good, I wish I got my dough thinner; next time.

To make the empanadas, put the circle into one hand and with a moist finger, dampen half the border of your circle/disc.  Place filling int he middle, close it, press the border, pinch it to close.  The more you do the better they start to look, it takes some practice.

Place on lightly greased baking sheet for 30 min.  (I think next time I will also try putting a light egg wash on the top of them to moisten it a bit while cooking).

This is what my empanadas looked like

This is what my empanadas looked like

This is what I wanted my empanadas to look like

This is what I wanted my empanadas to look like

Cook, eat, enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

