Gluten-Free Rhubarb Mango Streusel-topped Coffee Cake (gluten-free, nut-free)

This recipe came to me via South Shore Organics (we get bi-weekly delivery from them)…  it’s like food Christmas when the box arrives!!  My kids can’t wait to dig through it & see what favorite thing, or new things are in there.  They always add a thoughtful newsletter in the basket, which contains typically 4 recipes on the back & a Farmers Weekly newsletter on the front.  (This weeks topic was Tips to Avoid GMO’s)  And there is always a list of where your food came from, love that!!

I have never eaten rhubarb before (so it scared & challenged me a little), I have a couple of “pinned” recipes for it, but had still never tried it.  My husband had mentioned he loved it as a kid, so I really wanted to give it a whirl.  Well, they must have read my mind over there at SSO, our basket included rhubarb this week & a recipe for Rhubarb Streusel-topped Coffee Cake.  Well, say no more, I love & MISS coffee cake.  Why not give that a gluten-free makeover?

Now the reason my recipe includes mango is because I had 1 large beautiful organic mango leftover from our last basket & I didn’t have the required amount of ripe rhubarb for the recipe, I had enough of it, but a couple of stocks were still pretty green, so I decided to leave them out & substitute.  Also, since I had never had rhubarb before, I tasted it & well…  it was quite bitter…ooohhhhhh was the face that I made & my husband laughed out loud.  He knew that would happen.  Okay enough babble, time for the cooking.

SSO credits their recipe to www.eatingwell.com …  here is my version:

Ingredients: (cake)

1 Cup Organic Sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. (organic fine ground) sea salt

2 cups Gluten-Free all-purpose flour (Bob’s Red Mill is my personal favorite)

2 eggs (directly from the coop of my organic free range chickens), beaten (not the chickens, just the eggs)

1 cup sour cream

1 1/2 cups diced organic rhubarb

1 1/2 cups diced organic mango

Ingredients: (topping)

2/3 Cup organic sugar

1/4 Cup organic butter (softened)

1/4 Cup Gluten-free all-purpose baking flour

ground cinnamon for dusting

Grab 2 bowls, 1 large, 1 small.  Preheat oven to 350 F.  Grease a 9X13 baking dish (mine was greased with coconut oil spray)

*In the large bowl (this is the first thing I did…  last night, I placed the chopped rhubarb, mango & sugar in a bowl, covered & let sit overnight – to sweeten & soften the rhubarb) You don’t have to do this, it’s just what I did.

The sugar breaks down the fruit to make it soft & creates a lot of juice in the process, so don't be alarmed if you see how much.

The sugar breaks down the fruit to make it soft & creates a lot of juice in the process, so don’t be alarmed if you see how much.

The next morning, (I did not drain the juice out) I added in order the rest of the ingredients for the cake; baking soda, salt, flour, eggs, sour cream & mixed vigorously.  Pour into greased pan.

*In the small bowl mix together, sugar, butter & flour.  Spread as evenly as you can (I used my hands to crumble it) over top of the cake batter.  I then sprinkled with cinnamon.

Bake in preheated oven until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 45 minutes – depending on your oven.

This came out so delicious, moist, fluffy, it was just perfect, especially with a nice fresh cup of organic, fair trade coffee.

gluten-free rhubarb mango coffee cake 2 gluten-free rhubarb mango coffee cakeThe pictures don’t do this coffee cake justice, so good.  Cook, eat, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

