I won’t eat my veggies; funny you just did!! Summer Spaghetti Sauce, gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free, egg-free

You have kids who don’t eat their veggies?  Do they love spaghetti?  It’s a yes on both of these for me, on some occasions.  My kids both love pasta that’s a big YES, and they definitely eat certain veggies a lot & some never.  Here’s what works for them to eat the healthiest possible spaghetti sauce & their veggies (mine didn’t realize at all that the sauce was ALL vegetables).

6 Organic Roma tomatoes; minced (as little, or as many as you like, make sauce to store or just for tonight)

4 large cloves of organic garlic; minced

1 medium red organic onion; minced

1 medium yellow organic onion; minced

2 small-medium organic zucchini; chopped (tiny)

1 Cup of chopped organic Spinach (or more, I was afraid my oldest would balk at all the green)

2 Tbsp. organic chopped Basil

2 Tbsp. organic chopped Oregano (I know some people think this is a no-no, but I like it in my sauce)

1 Tbsp. organic chopped Rosemary (you don’t want the rosemary to be overpowering)

3 Tbsp. Organic Extra-Virgin Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Now for the easy part:

Dump everything into a saute’ pan, start with Olive Oil & Tomato first, set to low-medium let everything cook down until it’s a sauce, stirring occasionally & tasting along the way to make any changes.  Easy sauce, and light color & texture for Summer.  (My husband is not a thick sauce fan, which I do make in the Winter, he’ll eat it, but this is what he prefers).

While sauce is cooking down (should take 1/2 hour-1 hour tops depending on temp you cook); Boil your water, cook pasta of your choice.  Mine was a non-gmo, gluten-free, nut-free Vegan Corn pasta.

Drain pasta, dump sauce over top, quick easy, healthy Summer meal.  Everyone at the table is full & happy.

Cook, eat, enjoy!!

Confession:  I am so MAD at myself!!!  I DELETED my beautiful photos somehow 😦 😦  So, here is a pretty pic from the internet to show you what it might look like: (sorry)

This pic does not do this dish justice, it was bright, vibrant, full of nutrients & my kids devoured it!

This pic does not do this dish justice, it was bright, vibrant, full of nutrients & my kids devoured it!

Leave a Reply

