Kai’s Village reaching far & ringing another doorbell. Gluten-Free Crockpot cooking.

Made a delicious & light crockpot meal, I know some people don’t think of crockpot cooking in Summer, but why not?  It doesn’t heat up the house like the oven, or stove & you can fix it & forget it while you go & play outside, or hide in the AC.  Perfect!!

I had a recipe I was so eager to try for awhile & felt this was a great opportunity.  As I think of meals I’m making to deliver to any of the Kai’s Village families I always try to think as clean & healthy as possible (I always include protein, unless it’s ever requested not to & I tend to try to include extra protein, like beans, etc.), but keeping in mind it should be kid-friendly too.  I keep a list on Pinterest  for some ideas & sometimes small changes.  All the meals need to either be frozen, or freezer ready.  I always make double & we eat as a family what we deliver.   This is my 3rd time delivering to the same family & am already signed up for a 4th, so really, really hoping I haven’t made the same type of thing for them yet, but it’s probably bound to happen, as we keep a very tight food budget for our family & it’s sometimes hard to keep track as I tend to have a new mom delivery sprinkled in between my Village deliveries.

This is not my original recipe, here is the link to it here: Cilantro Lime Chicken, I made very few changes to the meal itself; here they are: BUT as always this recipe is Gluten-Free

Original                                                                                                 My changes

1 1/2 pounds of chicken breast                                                      Just over 4 lbs. of  chicken (cooking for 2 families)
juice from 2 limes                                                                                didn’t have fresh, so used lime juice.
1 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped                                                   Straight from my own garden, fresh & organic

1 (16 oz) bag frozen corn                                                                  I DETEST frozen corn, I used canned, organic & non-gmo
2 minced garlic cloves
1/2 red onion, chopped                                                                    Yummy!!  Whole Organic Red Onion
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 tsp cumin
salt and pepper to taste
I doubled pretty much everything, except for the corn & black beans for 2 reasons, #1 you don’t know how everyone else feels about these 2 ingredients, and #2 my family doesn’t like corn (I love it), but my boys don’t like it at all, so why waste it & same goes for the black beans, my husband & I love black beans, but the boys won’t eat them.
Throw all the ingredients in, set it & forget it!  We played outside most of the day & when this was finished we packed it up & delivered it, the boys love to come with me on these deliveries, we talk about Kai & what Aunt Kerri is doing for other families & our little part. We made rice to go along with it & also threw in some fresh organic carrots, what kid doesn’t love to chomp on carrots?   The house smelled delicious & we couldn’t wait to get home & gobble up our portion.
Cook, eat, enjoy!!
Boxed up & ready to go (don't mind the sticker I couldn't get off the top ...I did wash it, but couldn't get that sticker off!)

Boxed up & ready to go (don’t mind the sticker I couldn’t get off the top …I did wash it, but couldn’t get that sticker off!)

Youngest all tuckered out after all day play & delivery...

Youngest all tuckered out after all day play & delivery…

Leave a Reply

