Sneaky Olives & “Salty Chicken” Fauxpenade covered Gluten-Free Chicken.

This title might not sound great, but you’re curious right?  This recipe was inspired by something a friend was serving recently – an olive tapenade, I didn’t have a chance to try it (there was delicious looking bread served alongside {I was so tempted}, but I didn’t have any gf crackers, or bread to dip it in), but it looked, smelled & sounded so good, I did my own version, as a chicken topping.  And the reason I threw “Salty Chicken” into the title, this is what I told my oldest son it was to get him to not immediately turn his nose up & try it, ha ha.  (we do what we can, right?)   Yummy!!!!   I got my husband to eat something he absolutely hates – OLIVES!!  And my kids ate zucchini!  Ha ha ha…  sneaky? Yes. Delicious? Yes.  Do I feel bad?  No!

I called my version a fauxpenade, as it was missing a main ingredient capers.  I have them as a matter of fact on hand, but just wasn’t feeling them with this combination.

Here’s what went into my food grinder:

1 Cup of Black Olives (pits removed, which they already were; mostly, I found a couple of sneaky pits in there)

1 Cup Feta Cheese

1 Medium-Large diced Local Organic Zucchini (reserve a little to throw into baking dish w/the chicken breasts)

3 Tbsp. Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil

What you need not in the Grinder:

Chicken, as much, or as little as you want, I used approx. 1 1/2 lbs. chicken breast & then served this all with mashed potatoes.

That’s it, I didn’t add capers, or garlic, which you definitely could, I was going for a specific flavor & with the olives & feta this would be salty enough & didn’t want it too heavy.  After spreading this on top of the chicken breasts (which were lightly sprinkled w/organic pepper & organic sea salt) I then sprinkled the entire baking dish with paprika, organic garlic powder & organic thyme.

Breasts topped with mixture, then sprinkled with paprika, organic thyme & organic garlic powder

Breasts topped with mixture, then sprinkled with paprika, organic thyme & organic garlic powder

fussy eater pleasing chicken aka salty chicken 3

Finished product served with mashed potatoes

3 gorgeous chicken breast (skinless, boneless, no hormones) with some chopped zucchini

3 gorgeous chicken breast (skinless, boneless, no hormones) with some chopped zucchini

"faux"penade before being mixed

“faux”penade before being mixed

Mixed

Mixed

There was not a plate with a crumb left on it at the entire dinner table.  My husband asked what was in the topping once he had gobbled up, when I told him, his jaw hit the floor!!  He said, “I cannot believe you made me eat & actually like black olives, I never thought I’d see the day.”  I was so so so thrilled, this is like music to my ears when I can surprise people, but especially my hubs, who eats my cooking all the time.  Amazeballs!!  My boys ate everything, including the zucchini & liked it, my oldest son had a second good size piece of chicken.  Ahhhh….these are the nights when heating up the house & cooking is so worth it.

I will 100% make this dish again.  It was crazy easy & delicious. (This dish is gluten-free & nut-free)

Eat, cook, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

