Paleo Chicken Piccata (gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free)

I had a bridal shower to attend this past weekend & we were asked to include a recipe with our gift for the bride to be (I love this idea!).  The couple eats (I believe primarily) a Paleo diet, as they’re crossfitters.  So, I added a Paleo favorite of mine.  I did adjust the recipe slightly to make it nut-free for you tonight, but the original does call for Almond flour.  (Almond flour is also a bit of a budget buster for me, personally, so I tend to replace with tapioca (Paleo acceptable), or garbanzo bean flour (not paleo).

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (depending on how many you’re serving)
  • 2 organic eggs
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 cup tapioca flour (for nut free) (you can sub with almond flour)
  • 2 Tbsp organic chicken stock
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 2 Tbsp. capers
  • 1 tsp organic parsley, chopped

Directions

  1. Butterfly the chicken, pound thin if necessary
  2. Mix the egg/water mixture
  3. Mix the flour with a dash of salt, pepper, and paprika
  4. Dip chicken first in egg & then flour mixture
  5. Use a saute pan to sear chicken, make sure pan is hot with a dash of organic olive oil (or rice bran oil (not for Paleo), but great for high heat cooking)
  6. Preheat oven to 375 & cook for approx. 5-7 min. (cooked through)
  7. While chicken is in oven, deglaze pan with stock, add wine, lemon juice and capers, add some organic butter at this time as well for the sauce.
  8. Simmer until reduced

Plate the chicken & cover with sauce, garnish with parsley (to make pretty)

In my haste to get this cooked & post, I forgot to take pics before we had all gobbled this up!!!  I served with a beautiful salad of spinach, cucumbers & green peppers (dressed in olive oil, lemon & a pinch of salt & pepper).   So, please enjoy this generic internet photo!

Paleo chicken Piccata

Paleo chicken Piccata

I really, really wish I had some leftovers for lunch tomorrow; no joke!  Here’s a bit of a funny for you… at dinner, as I placed the plates in front of the boys (6 & 3), my oldest says to me, “Wow, that smells good, but what are these green balls on top?”  my youngest replies, “What gre’en (very exaggerated) balls, on my chicken??”  “You just said balls”  And now the whole table has burst into laughter!  After they finished cracking up, oldest wiped all the capers to the side & everyone devoured their supper.  I’m sorry I didn’t get a pic of the finished dish, this truly was a pretty plate of food & so darn delish!!  Cook, eat, enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Paleo Chicken Piccata (gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free)

Leave a Reply

