There was a special request, I must oblige! Slow cooker meatballs. (Paleo, gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free)

I promised a Paleo recipe last night, this is not what I planned on cooking, but my oldest son requested Mommy’s homemade sauce & meatballs, so I had to oblige!!  The meatballs are Paleo, the sauce & the pasta are not.  So, I’m going to include pics of everything & a brief recipe of the meatballs.  Tomorrow morning, or possibly tonight (if I have the energy), I will post the Paleo Chicken Piccata!!

8.26.13 slow cooker sauce

First I started by coating the bottom of the crock pot with Organic Olive Oil, then several (probably 6) cloves of organic garlic.  I then threw in 1 chopped organic yellow onion, several chopped stalks of organic celery, a pint of organic cherry tomatoes & 2 sliced organic vine tomatoes.  All organic vegetables courtesy of South Shore Organics, minus the vine tomatoes which came from store.  I then generously doused with basil & sprinkling of sea salt & pepper.  I let everything cook down to liquid.

8.26.13 slow cooker sauce 3

I then added about 3 Tbsp. of sour cream (I wanted to sauce a little thicker & creamier), this is also when I added a substantial amount of parsley.  This pic is with the meatballs cooking in the sauce.

FOR MEATBALLS:

  1. 1 1/2 lbs. of ground turkey
  2. 1 organic egg
  3. 3 TBsp. of ground flax seed (flax meal)
  4. salt & pepper to taste
  5. 1 stalk of chopped organic celery
  6. 1/4 chopped organic yellow onion
  7. generous sprinkle of basil

I mix my meatballs & form them by hand, I think this gets a really good mix of ingredients into your meatballs (or meatloaf for that matter)

This is a very simple meatball recipe, I do many variations on my meatballs, it really depends on my mood.  I formed the balls, dropped them into sauce & let them cook for approx. 1 hour.  (sauce was on for about 1 hour before meatballs)  I served over gluten-free organic brown rice pasta & then topped with some grated cheese.

8.26.13 paleo meatballs & slow cooker sauce

With grated cheese

With grated cheese

Simple & delicious!  Cook, eat, enjoy!

2 thoughts on “There was a special request, I must oblige! Slow cooker meatballs. (Paleo, gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free)

    • They are so yummy, I hope you enjoy! I get asked to make meatballs constantly for events, I change up the recipe here & there depending on what I have on hand & who they’re for, so feel free to experiment & change them up 🙂

Leave a Reply

