Roast Beef with chimichurri! Possibly the easiest recipe I’ve posted, and made for Kai’s Village. Gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free, egg-free

This is a super simple Roast Beef recipe.  I rarely post about red meat, because we don’t eat a lot of it, honestly.  Grocery store had it on sale & I thought it would be fun to try something different.  I really wanted to do something different for this Village delivery as I feel like I keep giving this family chicken, pretty sure I have 3 times now.  So, on today’s menu Roast beef with a chimichurri sauce; oh yeah!!  I’ve been dying to make a chimichurri of my own, so here’s the roast beef (simple directions) and the chumichurri sauce, also very simple.

Roast Beef:

Ingredients

4 lbs. Beef Round Roast

salt, pepper & cumin to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees F.  Season the roast with kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, a light sprinkle of cumin & place in a roasting pan or baking dish.
  2. Place the roast in the preheated oven. Reduce the temperature to 475 degrees F. Roast for 28 minutes (seven minutes per pound) then turn off the oven and let the roast sit in the hot oven for 2 1/2 hours.  Leave in, do not open door.
  3. Remove the roast from the oven, the internal temperature should have reached at least 145 degrees F.

9.11.13 9

Serve sliced thin.   I placed mine over a bed of organic Callaloo, which is a leafy green, likened to spinach.  I also served with a side of roasted organic potatoes, just felt right. (both Callaloo & potatoes from South Shore Organics)

Now for the chimichurri sauce:

Ingredients
1 bunch organic parsley, leaves finely chopped
1 bunch organic cilantro, leaves finely chopped (cilantro picked straight from my garden)
1 tablespoons capers, finely chopped (optional)
4 garlic organic cloves, minced
1 1/2 tablespoons red wine vinegar, or herbed vinegar (I used an organic herbed vinegar from Web of Life farm, local)
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 cup extra virgin organic olive oil

Directions
Put the parsley, cilantro, capers and garlic in a chopper, or blender (for a light pulse). Add the vinegar, salt, black pepper, paprika and pulse again briefly. Pour into a bowl & add the olive oil, mix until well combined. Let sit for 30 minutes, or more to get full flavor.

9.11.13 chimichurri

This is such a pretty, fragrant & delicious, but light sauce.  Really, really good & I will surely be making it more often!  I served all of this with a side of roasted potatoes.   Warning – do not make this sauce for a date you’re looking to make out on, garlic is pungent, delicious & pungent!  I’m a huge fan of garlic, you can probably use less than I did, but I wouldn’t!  Ha, ha.

Below is a pic of the delivered meal put together, before I put cover on & then what was served to my family:

Yummy plate of fresh mostly local & organic food!

Yummy plate of fresh mostly local & organic food!

Delivered to a Kai's Village family, please read more about Kai & the Village mission here: www.kaisvillage.org

Delivered to a Kai’s Village family, please read more about Kai & the Village mission here: www.kaisvillage.org

Last week was Kai’s birthday, he would have been 3 & my sons & I discussed their cousin, whom we miss very much today at great length.  I feel such hope when my boys & I deliver these meals, that maybe we’re making a small difference in a family’s life, a delicious home cooked, healthy meal to share with their family.   If you can help Kai’s Village mission in any way, donation, support, volunteering, please click the link above, I feel so lucky every day to be blessed with the family & friends that I have for support, the least I can do is to help others.  And to all my friends who have been volunteering to deliver meals to local families, you are awesome…here’s a hug & a thank you straight from my heart to yours!

So, please run out, get a beef round roast, make this dish, you will thank me, you will devour it!  Cook, eat, enjoy!

This dish is gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free & egg-free.

2 thoughts on “Roast Beef with chimichurri! Possibly the easiest recipe I’ve posted, and made for Kai’s Village. Gluten-free, nut-free, dairy-free, egg-free

  1. Pingback: Coming Unglu’d: My Perfect Thanksgiving Dinner (Something for everyone!) | edible South Shore & South Coast Blog

Leave a Reply

