The best gluten-free pancakes I’ve made yet, no one will know, they’re GF.

First to give credit where credit is due, I have to tell you my pancakes this morning were inspired by Linda over at the Gluten-Free Homemaker’s recipe, which can be found here: Gluten-Free Pancakes (great site if you haven’t checked it out).  It’s a very simple recipe to which I made some simple changes.  Here’s what you’ll need for my version:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 C sweet sorghum flour
  • 1/4 C tapioca starch
  • 1/2 C g-f all-purpose baking flour (I used trader joe’s)
  • 1 TBsp. Organic Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 TBsp. baking powder
  • 2 eggs (from our own organic free-range chickens)
  • 2 Tbsp. Coconut Oil
  • 1 tsp.  pure vanilla extract (please don’t use imitation)
  • 1 overripe organic banana
  • 1 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 c. sour milk (1 Tb. vinegar + enough milk to = 1 c.)

Instructions
In a medium to large bowl, place mashed banana on bottom, then pour in the “sour” milk (Thanks Linda for this tip, I’ve always made buttermilk with milk & lemon juice, never tried this before, it worked out great).  Now start adding all your flour(s), then all the wet, eggs & lastly add the vanilla & cinnamon.  Combine all the ingredients with a good wooden spoon.

You will have the best pancake consistency, no one will know these are gluten-free.   I use coconut oil to spray the pan, I then add a dab of butter & let that run all over pan while heating up, pour your desired size pancake into pan (I kept mine fairly small, larger than silver dollar, but smaller than small plate size), I could fit 4 pancakes into the pan at a time.  Cook for approx. 2-4 min. on each side (I like a little browning on mine) at low-medium heat.

We simply topped our pancakes with a touch of butter (very little) & some organic maple syrup.  I do apologize, there are no pics of ours, my kids ate every last one, the whole batch, hubs & I are lucky we got any!  They were that delicious!!  My kids have already requested them for next weekend, I promise I will add pics to this post.   Great pancake texture.

**Can be easily made dairy-free by replacing with coconut milk, or almond milk.**

Cook, eat, enjoy & don’t forget to share (please)!

Leave a Reply

