Fairly traditional Portuguese Kale Soup, gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free (slow cooker)

I grew up and went to school in a fairly heavily populated Portuguese area.  And I love, love traditional Portuguese food, some of the best meals I had growing up were at friends houses, whose moms were cooking up quail dinners, kale soup, linguica dishes, (and forget about the sweets, a whole different world of sweet treats) oh my goodness, great memories, even better food!

I’ve been fairly sick the last couple weeks with a nasty sinus infection (thank you New England ragweed season) & all I’ve wanted was Portuguese Kale soup & haven’t felt up to cooking and didn’t know where to get it locally (though I am going to find out), because we have a pretty decent sized Portuguese population where I live now, so there must be some good authentic food nearby.  Finally I’m feeling a little better, good enough that dammit I’m going to make myself some soup!  So, here we go.  I’m making mine in a crock pot, so I could set it & forget it, but you can just do in a pot (very large pot/stew pot) as well.

Ingredients
2 Tbsp. olive oil (I used organic extra virgin)
2 Tbsp. finely chopped garlic

1/2 cup diced organic red pepper

3 chopped organic red scallions

1/2 cup diced organic carrots
1 bunch organic kale, stemmed and roughly chopped
6 ounces chopped chorizo (spicy Portuguese sausage), or chorizo (I used a turkey chorizo)
3 bay leaves
2 Tbsp. Italian seasoning

2 Tbsp. fresh chopped organic parsley
16 oz. organic vegetable stock
1 large diced organic tomato
4-5 ounces diced organic red potatoes

8 cups water

Salt & Pepper to taste
Directions
First put into crock pot (set to 4 hours), Olive oil & then garlic, then place ingredients in order listed above, mix well & let sit, stirring every so often until desired doneness.

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free, Egg-free, make vegan by removing chorizo & adding beans (cannellini would be my preference)

Everything in there now, time to cook!

Everything in there now, time to cook!

Done & delicious!

Done & delicious!

Just what the Dr. ordered (Dr. Mom)

Just what the Dr. ordered (Dr. Mom)

Cook, eat, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

