Crock pot Chicken Pot Pie (gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free)

I have had such a craving for chicken pot pie lately (it’s freezing).  And I’ve also been fairly obsessed with my crock pot.  Today I decided to combine the two!  There’s no long story, or anecdote here, just a serious New England craving for a Fall classic.  Mondays & Wednesdays are a bit hectic at home, Monday night my oldest son gets home from school, we’ll rush his homework, then he has gymnastics for an hour & we’ll eat supper after, on Wednesday he gets home from school, we rush through homework & supper, because he has karate for 45min.  So, those are probably going to stick by me as crock pot days for a while at least, just easier for me to cook everything up all day long & then I don’t have to rush through supper prep later.

Here’s what you’ll need for the filling of the pot pie:

Filling

  • 1 Tbsp. dried Organic Thyme
  • 1 can Organic Green Peas (I don’t typically recommend you use canned vegetables, but the organic was on sale at my supermarket & I didn’t see any fresh organic peas, so I went w/the canned)
  • 1 cup chopped Organic Carrots (roughly 2 good sized carrots)
  • 1 small chopped Organic Red Onion
  • 2 chopped Organic Celery Stalks
  • 2 cloves minced Organic Garlic
  • 2-1/2 cups low sodium Gluten Free Organic Chicken Broth (mine is from Trader Joe’s, very inexpensive, I often get organic chicken broth at my local ocean state job lot as well)
  • 1 Tbsp Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Tapioca Flour
  • 3 Tbsp Water
  • 1/2 cup Dry White Wine (I’m not a wine drinker, but I always have 1 white bottle in the refrigerator for cooking)
  • 1 1/2 lb skinless boneless chicken (tenders, breasts, thighs, any will do)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • I also added roughly 2 Tsp. fresh Organic Lemon Basil (from my garden, smells so good & adds just the right tang)

Grab your crock pot, set it for 6 hours & start filling it with goodies as follows:

Add the chicken, lightly salt, pepper lemon basil

Add the chicken, lightly salt, pepper lemon basil

Next add peas & stock

Next add peas & stock

Keep adding the vegetables

Keep adding the vegetables

All the rest of the vegetables & garlic & any other herbs you desire.

All the rest of the vegetables & garlic & any other herbs you desire.

Add the flour last & let it cook test a piece of chicken to make sure it's done.  Your house is going to smell so good!

Add the flour last & let it cook test a piece of chicken to make sure it’s done. Your house is going to smell so good!

While you’re filling is cooking in the crock pot, mix & cook your cornbread/crust:

For the crust, I sort of “cheated”, or took the easy way out, it happens even to a scratch cooker.  My short cut a gluten-free cornbread mix (Bob’s Red Mill).  I was shopping for my other gluten-free flours & saw it & thought, yes, I’ll grab that, on sale, make my life easier today.  Mix according to instruction on package, but take small amount of the mix, put in the bottom of 2 pie pans, or 1 9X13 baking dish, I did 2 pie tins, about a 1/4 in. in the bottom of pan, bake for 10min.  at 375 degrees.  Add the pot pie filling mixture over top of that, add a layer of shredded cheese if desired (no cheese this is dairy-free), I did, but you don’t have to, I just knew my boys would be more likely to eat it if it had cheese, then top w/the remainder of the cornbread mix & bake another 10min.

I recommend just covering the bottom of the pie pans, or baking dish of your choice (I personally felt my bottom crust was a little too thick, all be it still incredibly deilcious!

I recommend just covering the bottom of the pie pans, or baking dish of your choice (I personally felt my bottom crust was a little too thick, all be it still incredibly delicious!

Beautiful finished product, so pretty, so tasty, so easy!

Beautiful finished product, so pretty, so tasty, so easy!

finished beauty

 

Cook, eat, enjoy & please share 🙂

6 thoughts on “Crock pot Chicken Pot Pie (gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free)

    • Sharon, that’s a great question, my crockpot has timed settings, not high, or low, so I would say depends on your crockpot. I would consider 6 hours to be low-medium in setting, that would be my best estimation. Thanks for your question; enjoy!

Leave a Reply

