Lighter version of Chicken Lazone (original recipe link included) Gluten-free

I was in the mood for something different & had a need for pasta, all of which brought me across this recipe: Chicken Lazone  from Plain Chicken.  I liked the sound/idea of it, but needed to make a couple changes, based on personal taste & what I had on hand in my refrigerator.

Ingredients: (for my version)

  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp turmeric         (I have been using a lot of turmeric lately, great for joint health & circulation)
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 ground pepper
  • 2 lb chicken tenders
  • 1/4 cup butter, divided (organic, unsalted)
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 1/4 cup organic goat cheese
  • 1 large organic garlic clove
  • 1 Organic green bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup organic minced onion
  • extra dash of sea salt for finishing sauce

Instructions:

Combine salt, chili powder, garlic powder,  turmeric and ground pepper.  Cover both sides of chicken tenders with the combination.

In large saute pan, melt the butter with goat cheese & almond milk over low heat, once the butter melts and goat cheese & milk are combined, add onion, minced garlic & sliced green pepper, just before adding chicken, a dash of sea salt might be in order for the sauce (depending on your taste).  Cook the chicken tenders until done, about 8 minutes.

I served this over a gluten-free, white rice pasta.  I started boiling my water at the same time I started my sauce & placed pasta in pot to boil just before adding chicken to saute pan.  Once all was cooked & pasta was drained, I added all the chicken & light/thin sauce over pasta.  It was delicious, my whole family completely devoured it.  I also sprinkled with a touch of grated cheese at serving.

Cook, eat, please share & enjoy!!

 

Lighter Chicken Lazone, perfect for Summer.

Lighter Chicken Lazone, perfect for Summer.

Leave a Reply

