Gluten-Free Taco Pie (also nut-free)

So trolling Pinterest as I often do for dinner inspiration, design inspiration, gift ideas, etc.  I kept seeing “Taco Pie”, but every recipe I clicked on used a “Bisquick” binder, which I thought, taco pie, where’s the tacos?

Corn tortillas (gluten-free) made way more sense to me naturally speaking.  So, I grabbed my tortillas, my ground turkey, the very last of my homemade summer salsa (tear in the eye) and got to work.  I didn’t bother trying to follow any of the recipes I looked at, just went into the refrigerator & grabbed what I thought would be delicious! (lots of cheese!) Let’s begin:

1 package ground turkey (20 oz.)

taco seasoning (I make my own, I will not buy store packets, most contain some disgusting ingredients that I can get into at some other time) I’ll post my taco seasoning recipe and add the link here.

1 Tbsp. Organic Oregano

Grated cheese, as much or as little as you like, I would say I used 1/2 cup total

Sour cream (again at your discretion) I used about 1/4 cup total

Salsa 1/2 cup (mine was organic homemade)

Salsa Verde (green salsa) (organic) 1/4 cup

1/2 Cup chopped smoked green chiles (store-bought jarred)

1 can of black beans

Gluten-free Corn Tortillas (I used 8 for this recipe)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

First I cooked up my ground turkey & seasoned it, set aside.

Then warmed up my tortillas (to make pliable) in a pan and started layering from there.

Warm up Tortillas, about 1 minute each side to warm, then layer into baking pan (I used a cake pan)

Warm up Tortillas, about 1 minute each side to warm, then layer into baking pan (I used a cake pan)

Each layer of the “pie” has 3 tortillas (except top, only used 2) 2 split in half & placed around edges, then 1 whole in the middle (see 2nd pic below)

Next start putting all the goodies on the tortillas:

Taco meat (1/2 of what I cooked), black beans (yummy), salsa, cheese, sour cream and salsa verde.

Taco meat (1/2 of what I cooked), black beans (yummy), salsa, cheese, sour cream and salsa verde.

Next another layer of tortillas and some chiles!!

Next layer of tortillas, with the chiles, about to be smothered in the rest of the taco meat.

Next layer of tortillas, with the chiles, about to be smothered in the rest of the taco meat.

Dump the rest of the taco meat on, and some more fixins!!

Lastly 2 split tortillas on top, with plenty more cheese and another sprinkle of oregano:

IMG_9849

Baked at 375 for 5 minutes; Supper is ready!!

Baked at 375 for 5 minutes; Supper is ready!!

One final delicious picture for you:

Huge family hit!!

Huge family hit!!

Cook, eat, share and enjoy!!

 

Vegan followers, I promise a new vegan recipe coming soon!

(Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook and Twitter)

Leave a Reply

