Not your typical Broiled Cod (Tilapia, or any whitefish) with roasted sweet potatoes and Brussels Sprouts. Gluten-Free, Paleo

We love seafood here at our house.  Broiled Cod is what’s on the menu for tonight; Errrr…I mean Tilapia (I thought I had Cod on hand, but I didn’t! I had only Tilapia left in my seafood stockpile). This recipe will work great with any whitefish. With it I was going to make rice and salad, but I have an abundance of both sweet potatoes & Brussels sprouts, so I decided to switch it up a bit. If you’ve reading my blog for a while you’ll know I’m a big supporter of use what you have!

Now, here’s where a very traditional recipe is going to go a bit “off the rails” so to speak. I haven’t done my shopping this week (we’re just coming off a school vacation combined with too much eating out), and I like to use up almost everything I have on hand before I go do another big shop (stretching the budget)!  So, here is what you’ll need if you want to try something different with your fish:

  • 1/2 Cup Italian Dressing (I used homemade, but you certainly can use a bottled dressing)
  • 1/4 tsp. Sea Salt
  • 2 large heads of Organic Garlic, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp. paprika, turmeric & ground black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. organic cumin
  • 2 Tbsp. Avocado Oil (or olive oil if you don’t have avocado)
  • 1/2 tsp. balsamic vinegar
  • Cod fillets (2-4)

Directions

  1. In a large resealable plastic bag, combine the dressing, vinegar and seasonings, including chopped garlic. Add the fish; seal bag and marinate, as little as 30 minutes is great!
  2. Drain and discard (some) marinade; place fillets on a broiler pan coated with cooking spray, or any pan lined with aluminum foil (if you don’t have broiler pan). Broil on top rack of your oven for 10-12 minutes (1/2 way through I like to put a little more marinade on the fillets) or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Place a drizzle of avocado oil on each fillet & serve.

Marinating fish 1

***While I was prepping the fish & marinating I roasted my sweet taters & Brussels at 425F for 30min. (I dressed them lightly with organic olive oil, sea salt, pepper, basil and fresh squeezed lemon). Wish you could smell these beauties!

Getting read to cook

Getting read to cook

Beautiful cooked sweet potatoes and Brussels Sprouts (both organic)

Beautiful cooked sweet potatoes and Brussels Sprouts (both organic)

Delicious!!  My family, including 2 somewhat picky boys devoured it….okay maybe not the Brussels, but they at least had 2 each, which is a win in my book!

I wish this picture did this meal justice, it was so much better than even I expected, here is a photo of the results:

IMG_0797

This meal is healthy, hearty, and Paleo.  Please remember, cook, eat, enjoy & share!

**Wednesday look for a Vegan Gluten-free recipe**

Leave a Reply

