Roasted Garlic and Carrot Hummus (Vegan, Gluten-free, nut-free)

My husband & I both like to put hummus on our sandwiches, or almost anything really.  I rarely eat sandwiches; being gluten-free, but he eats them a decent amount.  So when he asked me to make some homemade hummus for his lunches this week, I got to work.

I often put fresh organic garlic into my hummus, but it’s so cold out & I was so in the mood to smell roasted garlic waft through the house! So, following these instructions I got to roasting my beautiful garlic (from South Shore Organics): (garlic roasting instructions, click here)

Here’s what you’ll need to get started:

1 Whole head of organic garlic (roasted as instructed above)

1 can chick peas, 15-16oz. drained & rinsed

2 organic carrots, peeled & chopped

1 whole organic lemon, quartered and squeezed

2 tsp. avocado oil, or organic olive oil

pinch of sea salt

1/4 tsp. each of turmeric, cumin & paprika

2 tsp. basil (fresh, or dried)

Place everything into food processor & grind away until pureed to desired texture.

Cook, eat, share & most importantly enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

