Gluten-Free Pork Schnitzel (gluten-free, nut-free)

I had purchased pork loin cutlets the last time I was at one of my favorite stores, for three reasons, they were cheap, they looked delicious & I immediately had several ideas on what to do with them.

So today as I opened up our freezer to see what I would make on this very cold snowy night… I saw the pork cutlets and thought, “oh Schnitzel; yes!” And seriously, I thought that, just like that, in a squeaky excited voice; true! Not sure why that popped into my head, but it did & it sounded amazing – and it was!!!  I had jarred gravy (I make it in pretty big batches when I make homemade gravy, I will post a recipe next time I make it, and pay attention to what I throw into pan while creating) & this gravy was perfect to go over a good schnitzel.  What is Schnitzel? Here it is as described online: Schnitzel. (thin, breaded fried meat in a nutshell)

Ingredients
7-8 boneless pork loin cutlets (very thin)
1 1/2 Cups gluten-free all-purpose flour
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper (to taste)
1 large organic egg
1/2 cup organic milk
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
3 Tablespoons avocado olive oil (for frying)
1/2 Tbsp. paprika
1 Tbsp. thyme
1/4 cup Lemon juice
1/2 cup Flax seeds

Start heating a good non-stick saute, or frying pan with the oil. Place all of your dry ingredients (flour, grated cheese, paprika, thyme and flax seeds) in 1 bowl, wet ingredients (milk, lemon juice & egg; whisk together) in another bowl. Lightly season your cutlets with salt & pepper.

Take each cutlet and place into bowl of dry ingredients (“breading”), lightly coat both sides, place into wet bowl making sure to get it soaked, then back into dry bowl, coat both sides evenly & place into hot oil, cook for 2-4 min. depending on thickness of cutlets on each side, place on a warming plate until all cutlets are cooked & serve.  I drizzled my cutlets with the homemade gravy, but they would be delicious as is without any gravy as well.

I served with simple white rice and a very simple organic salad (heavy main dish, light sides). Was so good and satisfying on such a cold night, we were watching the snow fall, listening to music and both of our boys completely cleaned their plates and hubs had 2 plates & wanted more, but saved the rest for his work lunch tomorrow. Success. (this was an extremely budget conscious meal, this also makes me extremely happy).

Cook, eat, enjoy & please share.

Leave a Reply

