Italian Wedding Soup (gluten-free, nut-free) Slow-Cooker Recipe

Truth be told, I’m not a huge fan of Valentine’s Day, I don’t quite see the point. My husband and I are both very affectionate with each other and our children, and have no problem saying I love you every day. I appreciate random flowers and random notes & cards, not really the forced assignment of 1 day per year. That being said, we are about to have another blizzard here in the Northeast, (wish you could see the lack of enthusiasm on my face as I type this).

When we’re gearing up for a storm, I have an urge to not only make comfort food, but large batches of it, that could easily be reheated on our wood stove if we lost power. (Yes, that’s how we have to think). (see a much earlier blog post about “pioneer cooking”) This time around I decided with 4lbs. of ground turkey to use, I would make a big crock pot of Italian wedding soup (which I love and we had at our very own wedding; see romantic, huh?!) And a nice comforting meatloaf. Here is my recipe for Gluten-Free Italian Wedding Soup:

Ingredients:

Meatballs:

1 pound ground turkey
1 whole organic egg
1/4 cup corn meal (as replacement binder for bread crumbs; you can use gf breadcrumbs)
1 teaspoon each parsley, oregano, basil and thyme
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 cloves organic garlic – minced
1 teaspoon sea salt

Soup:

6 cups organic free-range chicken stock & 3 cups of water, pinch of sea salt & fresh cracked black pepper
3 cloves organic garlic – sliced thin, I also added 1 whole chopped organic onion (personal preference, you can do w/out)
1/3 cup diced organic carrot
1 pound chopped fresh organic spinach
1 cup small gluten-free pasta, or rice (I opted for rice this time,because I had a new rice wanted to try from Trader Joe’s, but should be a small pasta)

1. Place liquid(s) in crock pot, then start with onion (if you choose to use it), garlic, carrots, and spinach, place on low. (Oh, I threw a dash of turmeric into my broth as well)
2. Combine all your ingredients for meatballs in a large bowl.
3. Lightly brown/sear meatballs in a saute pan, then place into vegetable stock.
4. When all meatballs have been added to the stock, cook for roughly 1 hour, then add pasta, or rice until cooked through.
5. Serve with extra Parmesan cheese sprinkled in each bowl.

I can honestly say this was the most delicious soup I have made and I fancy myself a really good soup maker. I don’t buy canned soup (I just can’t stand it, it’s not a snobby thing, I hate the flavor). Make this soup, healthy, hearty, delicious.

Cook, eat, share & enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Italian Wedding Soup (gluten-free, nut-free) Slow-Cooker Recipe

Leave a Reply

